m

Survey Permissions to Shared Surveys

When a survey is shared, people are given a level of access to each section of the survey. A team member's default access level is determined by their seat type, but it may be possible to edit the level of permissions someone has. The highest level of access available to people outside of your team is View Only.

Jump to...

Default Access Levels

Each person you share with is given the highest level of access by default, based on their seat type's permissions.

Seat typeDefault access levels
Enterprise user or Full Access seats
(Primary Admin and Full User roles)
Design Survey—Full Access
Collect Responses—Full Access
Analyze Results—Full Access
Contributor seats
(Analyst)
Design Survey—View Only
Collect Responses—View Only
Analyze Results—Full Access
People not on your teamDesign Survey—View Only
Collect Responses—View Only
Analyze Results—View Only

While sharing a survey, you can click the p Edit permissions icon to update the default access levels for each section of the survey for Full Users and Admins or Analysts you selected.

If you don't have any Analysts selected to share with, and you want to assign different access levels to each Full Access seat, select Set individual permissions and click the p Edit permissions icon. You won't see this option if you have Analysts selected to share a survey with, but you can always Edit permissions later.

 

Managing Permissions

Depending on your plan type, you may be able to edit the level of access other team members have to each section of the survey.

 

Access Levels: Design Survey

Access Level
Description
Full AccessFull Access permissions to view, create, edit, or delete anything in the Design Survey section.
View OnlyPeople with View Only permissions can view the Design Survey section but can't see most survey settings like options, logic, or question settings. They also can't edit or delete anything in the Design Survey section.

Viewing Edits in Shared Surveys

You need to refresh the Design Survey page to see other people's changes.

There isn't a way to track changes, view live collaborative editing, revert changes, or see who's currently editing on the survey.

Get feedback without giving access. Invite someone to comment on your survey design if you want to get feedback without giving them access to your survey in their account.

 

Access Levels: Collect Responses

Access Level
Description
Full Access *Full permissions to view, create, edit, or delete anything in the Collect Responses section.

This access level is only available when Analyze Results is also set to Full Access.
View Only *People can view the collector list and some information in each collector, but they can't edit collector options or send the survey to get responses.
No AccessNo Access to the Collect Responses section.

* People you share your survey with may run into access level limitations due to certain collector type exceptions.

Exceptions

Email Invitation and Text Message Collectors

Since contacts are unique to an account, survey owners can make edits to the Email Invitation and Text Message collectors they created. Any shared Email Invitation or Text Message collectors will be View Only.

People can see the survey results from Email Invitation and Text Message collectors, as long as they have the right permissions for the Analyze Results section.

Web Link and Social Media Collectors

People with View Only permissions to the Collect Responses section see a version of the survey link where the URL ending is replaced with asterisks (*). This is to prevent anyone without Full Access permissions from sharing the link to get responses.

Website Collector

People with View Only permissions to the Collect Responses section can't view Website Collectors (Popup Surveys, Popup Invitations, and Embedded Surveys). People need Full Access permissions to view Website collectors.

 

Access Levels: Analyze Results

Access Level
Description
Full AccessFull permissions to view, create, edit, or delete anything in the Analyze Results section.

People will see any rules, saved views, custom charts, shared data pages, exports, or text analysis created by the survey owner or any others with Full Access permissions. You need to refresh the Analyze Results page to see other people's edits to the Analyze Results section.

Full Access in Analyze Results is only available when Collect Responses is also set to Full Access.
View OnlyPeople can view the survey results in the Original View only.

People will not see any rules, saved views, custom charts, shared data pages, exports, or text analysis created by the survey owner or others, and they can't make any changes.
No AccessNo Access to the Analyze Results section.

On the My Surveys page, people won't see how many responses a survey has—they see ≥1 instead.
Share results with anyone! To share your survey results with a wider audience, create a shared data page or results dashboard and share the link anywhere.

 

Access Levels: My Surveys

What you can do with a shared survey depends on whether you're the survey owner or a survey is shared with you.

Action
Survey Owner
Shared with you
(Any access level)
Send a copy
3
3
Transfer a survey
3
å
Clear responses
3
å*
Delete a survey
3
å
Use an Integration
3
å

* People with Full Access permissions to the Collect Responses or Analyze Results sections are able to clear or delete responses from those sections—just not from the My Surveys page.

 

When a survey is shared, people are given a level of access to each section of the survey. A team member's default access level is determined by their role, but it may be possible to edit the level of permissions some one has. The highest level of access available to people outside of your team is View Only.

Get answers