m

Workgroups

ENTERPRISE FEATURE: If you’re interested in Workgroups, contact sales. If you already have a SurveyMonkey Enterprise account, contact your Customer Success Manager.

Workgroups help organize team members with a shared purpose to collaborate on survey projects. Primary Admins & Admins can create workgroups to quickly and easily share surveys with everyone in a workgroup. Plus, you can manage members and assign roles so each team member has the right level of access to surveys.

TIP! Let Users create, own, and manage workgroups, too—contact your CSM.

Jump to...

 

Create a Workgroup

To create a new workgroup:

  1. Select My Team from the top navigation.
  2. Go to the Workgroups tab.
  3. Click New Workgroup.
  4. Type a Workgroup name and Purpose. Click Create Workgroup.
  5. From the Members tab, search or click to add members to the workgroup. You can search for members of your team by name, email, or role.
  6. From the Surveys tab, add the surveys you want to share with all members of the workgroup.
  7. From the Settings tab, select whether the workgroup is Public or Private. Public workgroups are visible to your entire team, while private workgroups are only visible to its members.

When a team member is added to a workgroup, they're assigned the default role. Manage Members to update the default role and individual member roles.

 

Workgroup Surveys & Roles

Surveys

Add surveys to a workgroup to share it with all team members. You can add surveys when creating a workgroup or share surveys directly from the My Surveys page.

Roles

A workgroup member's role determines if they can view, access, and edit the workgroup's shared surveys.

RoleMember Permissions
Full AccessFull permissions to view, create, edit, or delete anything in the Design Survey, Collect Responses, and Analyze sections.
EditorFull permissions to the Design Survey section. Limited permissions to Collect Responses and Analyze sections.
CollectorFull access to the Collect Responses section. Limited permissions to the Design Survey section and no access to the Analyze section.
Analyzer

Full permissions to the Analyze section. Limited permissions to view the survey design and collector list.

Collaborators will see any filters, compare rules, show rules, custom charts, shared data pages, exports, or text analysis categories created by the survey owner or any other collaborator with Full Access or Analyzer permissions. You need to refresh the Analyze Results page to see other collaborators' changes.

ViewerCollaborators can view the Design Survey, Collect Responses, and Analyze sections but cannot edit or make changes.

 

Manage Workgroups

Managing Members

The Members tab displays every workgroup member's name, email, and role. This is also where you can add members to a workgroup, re-assign roles, remove members, or review team requests to join a public workgroup.

To re-assign an individual member's role:

  1. Select My Team from the top navigation.
  2. Go to the Workgroups tab.
  3. From the Members tab, click on . to the right of the member's name you want to re-assign. Click Assign Role.
  4. Select the role from the dropdown. Click Assign.

To re-assign the default role for a workgroup:

  1. Select My Team from the top navigation.
  2. Go to the Workgroups tab.
  3. From the Settings tab, click the Default Role dropdown and select the new default role.
  4. Click Save Changes.

To review a member request to join a workgroup:

  1. Select My Team from the top navigation.
  2. Go to the Workgroups tab.
  3. From the Members tab, Accept or Deny a member request to join the workgroup.

Delete a Workgroup

If a workgroup is no longer needed, delete the workgroup. When a workgroup is deleted, the shared surveys will no longer be available to members, unless they are owned by the member or the survey is shared independently of the workgroup.

To delete a workgroup:

  1. Select My Team from the top navigation.
  2. Click on the Workgroups tab.
  3. Find the workgroup you want to delete and click the . to the right of that workgroup.
  4. Select Delete.

 

Find a Workgroup

Anyone on the team can see the workgroups they're a part of in the My Workgroups tab or view the entire team's public workgroups in the All Workgroups tab—just click on the username dropdown in the upper-right corner and select Workgroups.

If you'd like to join a public workgroup, you can Ask to join. This sends an email notification to the workgroup owner to review.

Enterprise Workgroups help organize team members with a shared purpose to collaborate on projects.

Get answers