If you are beginning to build your workflow and have added an unnecessary stage, you may choose to Delete it. This article will walk through how to delete a stage, and the implications involved with deleting a stage that contains tasks and application data.
Please advise extreme caution when it comes to deleting a stage from your site. When a stage is deleted from the site it will also delete ALL collected data to any tasks that exist within that stage, as the tasks will also be deleted.
This would mean that the information would no longer be within the application to be able to download or report on.