Canceling auto-renew prevents your payment method from being charged at your next billing date, or if you pay by invoice, prevents your next invoice from being issued. Your current subscription (the time you already paid for) isn't affected, so you'll continue to be able to access and benefit from paid features until the plan downgrades on your next billing date.
If you're located in the European Union and upgraded a new account within the past 14 days, you may also want to review our European Union Subscription Cancellation Policy.
Follow the steps below to cancel your subscription if you have your own plan or if you're the Primary Admin of a team.
To cancel auto-renew:
When your plan downgrades, your plan type changes to Basic (our free plan). If you're canceling a team, all accounts will downgrade and the team will be dissolved.
If you currently have an unpaid invoice, you won't see the option to cancel auto-renew. Please contact us to cancel your account.
If you cancel a HIPAA-enabled account, we'll place your account into a suspended state at the end of your billing cycle. We'll retain the account for the period of time stated in the BAA to provide you with an opportunity to renew it. At the end of the suspension period, we'll close the account and delete all data in it.
If you purchased a SurveyMonkey plan through the SurveyMonkey mobile app for iOS, billing is managed by Apple instead of SurveyMonkey. You'll need to cancel your subscription on their platform instead of in SurveyMonkey.
You can delete your own account, as long as you're not on a team. When you delete your account or an account in your team, the account is disabled immediately. You won’t be able to log in or access its content, invoices, or payment history. All data will be permanently removed from our system within 90 days.
We are currently updating the way you log in to your account. Choose the option below that best applies to you.
We don't automatically refund you for any remaining time when you cancel a subscription or delete an account.
In most cases, canceling auto-renew before the end of your subscription means you'll have access to paid features until the end of your subscription term. If you only need a paid plan for a short amount of time, we offer a monthly plan. In accordance with our terms of services, when you cancel your subscription, previous charges won't be refunded unless legally required. Consumers in the European Union have refund rights described in our European Union Subscription Cancellation Policy. If you're located in another region where we're legally required to issue a refund on an early cancellation, or you have any questions about cancellations or refunds, please contact us.
If you delete your individual account, you'll lose access to paid time left in your plan. During the deletion process, you're asked to explicitly agree to forfeit the remaining time in your current paid subscription and acknowledge that you won't be refunded for this unused time.
If you delete an account on your team, you won't lose access to paid time left for their seat. Instead, their seat becomes available, and you can invite another person to the team at no additional cost.