m

Opted Out or Bounced Contacts

Some of your contacts or recipients may be labeled as opted out or bounced in Contacts, Email Invitation collectors, or Text Message collectors.

Jump to...

 

What are Opted Out or Bounced Contacts?

Opted Out

All messages sent through SurveyMonkey are required to include info on how recipients can opt out and unsubscribe from future survey invitations.

Email Invitations
  • Any recipient who clicks an opt out link is labeled as opted out in your Email Invitation collector and Contacts.
  • After someone opts out, you can’t send them messages via the Email Invitation collector.
  • To change the opted out status, the email address owner needs to opt back in to receiving future Email Invitations.
Text Messages
  • Any recipient who replies STOP to your text invitation is labeled as opted out in your Text Message collector and Contacts.
  • After someone opts out, you can’t send them messages via the Text Message collector.
  • To change the opted out status, the phone number owner needs to reply START to the original text invitation.

To comply with our Anti-Spam Policy, please remove opted out recipients from Contacts within ten days.

Bounced

A hard bounce means there's a permanent reason an email or text can't be delivered. A hard bounce most likely occurs if the contact info is invalid (for example, it doesn't exist or contains a typo) or the receiving mail server is blocking our IP addresses or domains.

  • Any recipient whose email address or phone number hard bounced a message is labeled as bounced in your Email Invitation collector or Text Message collector and Contacts.
  • If an email address or phone number bounced a message sent from any SurveyMonkey account, no one else with a SurveyMonkey account can send them messages.
We monitor outgoing messages sent through Email Invitation collectors to ensure we meet industry standards regarding bounce rates. If you have a very high bounce rate, we may suspend your mailing privileges within SurveyMonkey.

 

Viewing Opted Out or Bounced Contacts

Email Invitations or Text Messages

While you can add opted out or bounced contacts in the Send To field, we review the recipient list before an invitation is sent and remove recipients that previously opted out or bounced. As a result, your invitation may send to fewer recipients than you added.

To view the specific recipients who opted out or bounced:

  1. Go to your collector’s Overview tab.
  2. Click the Recipients tab.
  3. Click All recipients and select the status from the drop-down menu. If you're looking at an Email Invitation, make sure All messages is selected.

You can't remove recipients who opted out or bounced from existing collectors, but you can remove them from Contacts so you don't add them to future collectors.

Contacts

When adding or importing contacts, you can add email addresses that opted out or bounced to Contacts. But, the contacts are automatically labeled as opted out or bounced.

To view and delete opted out or bounced contacts:

  1. Click your username in the upper-right corner.
  2. Select Contacts.
  3. In the left sidebar of Contacts, click Opted Out or Bounced.
  4. In your contact list, check the box next to the contacts you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete Permanently at the top of the list.

Deleting contacts within Contacts doesn’t remove them from your existing collectors, but it will prevent you from adding them to future collectors.

 

Yanıt alın