Sharing Surveys with Collaborators
If you're a part of a team, you can share surveys with people in or outside of your team. You can control the level of access your team members have to each section of the survey. However, the highest level of access available to people outside of your team is View Only.
- Sharing Surveys
- Managing Collaborators & Permissions
- Access Levels: Survey Design
- Access Levels: Collect Responses
- Access Levels: Analyze Results
- Access Levels: My Surveys
- Requesting Survey Access
You can share a single survey or multiple surveys at once.
Share a single survey
To share a single survey:
Share multiple surveys
To share one or more surveys:
It isn't possible to share multiple surveys with people outside of your team, but you can share surveys one at a time.
The permissions you select for multiple surveys will override any permissions you set for surveys you've previously shared.
TIP! If you aren't able to share multiple surveys at a time, you can share a single survey.
We send an email notification to anyone you shared the survey with. To access the survey, they can click Open Survey to log in or sign up for an account. The account email address needs to match the one the survey was shared with.
The shared survey is available in a collaborator's account until the survey owner either removes the collaborator or transfers the survey to someone outside of the team.
Managing Collaborators & Permissions
Finding Your Shared Surveys
You can see all surveys in your account from My Surveys.
TIP! We automatically create folders for shared surveys so you can easily find shared surveys in your survey list.
Viewing & Editing Sharing Permissions
You can view and manage sharing permissions from My Surveys.
Team members with access to a shared survey can see who else it's shared with, and what permissions each collaborator has. People outside of the team can't see the other collaborators.
To view the collaborators on a survey:
Survey owners can remove collaborators from accessing a survey.
To remove a collaborator from a survey:
To edit someone's access levels to a survey:
Want to update the sharing permissions for multiple surveys? Share multiple surveys and select access levels for all surveys at once. These permissions will override any previous share permissions.
Access Levels: Survey Design
You need to refresh the Design Survey page to see other collaborators' changes.
There isn't a way to track changes, view live collaborative editing, revert changes, or see who's currently working on the survey.
Get feedback without giving access! Invite someone to comment on your survey design if you want to get feedback without giving them access to your survey in their account.
Access Levels: Collect Responses
* Collaborators may run into access level limitations due to exceptions with certain collector types.
Email Invitation and Text Message
Since contacts are unique to each account, survey owners and collaborators can only make edits to the Email Invitation and Text Message collectors they created. Any shared Email Invitation or Text Message collectors will be View Only.
Collaborators can see the survey results from Email Invitation and Text Message collectors, as long as they have the right permissions for the Analyze Results section.
Web Link and Social Media
Collaborators with View Only permissions to the Collect Responses section see a dummy version of the survey link where the URL ending is replaced with asterisks (*). This is to prevent anyone without Full Control permissions from sharing the link to get responses.
Website Embed or Popup
Collaborators with View Only permissions to the Collect Responses section can't view Website Collectors (Popup Survey, Popup Invitation, and Embedded Survey). Collaborators need Full Control permissions to view Website Collectors.
Access Levels: Analyze Results
Access Levels: My Surveys
What you can do with a shared survey depends on whether you're the survey owner or a collaborator.
* Collaborators with Full Control permissions to the Collect Responses or Analyze Results sections are able to clear or delete responses from those sections—just not from the My Surveys page.
Requesting Survey Access
Looking for team surveys?
After you join a team, ask your Primary Admin and teammates to share surveys so you can access your team’s existing surveys.
Want to request more access?
Collaborators in the same team can request more access to a specific section of a survey that's shared with them.
To request more access:
The survey owner gets an email notification about the request and can choose to change the access levels. There's no way to request a specific level of access—it's up to the survey owner to decide what level of access they give you.